jump to navigation

Unfolding October 26, 2008

Posted by Ruzter in Techniques.
trackback

I was looking into converting Google Sketchup models into code to run on my CNC (g-code) and I ran into this cool plugin for sketchup called jf_unfoldtool.rb (There is also a cool video of how it works)

Basically it allows you to “unfold” a model into flat panels. Here is a sample for a model go-cart that Grant designed and I unfolded. This could be very useful in designing models, breaking them down into panels and then cutting them on the CNC!

Here is my first try at folding (I didn’t put too much effort into it)

Someone thinks this has all kinds of potential!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

