jump to navigation

Tapping a straight hole October 1, 2008

Posted by Ruzter in Assembly.
trackback

I have always been vexed by having to tap threads in a hole so that the threads are square to the top of the material I was tapping. Recently I thought about making a jig with a hole in it to line it up. While I was looking for a piece of aluminum thick enough, I had the eureka moment.

Start by putting the tap in the hole. Notice the tap I am using had a somewhat flat profile on it’s side.

Next, place the “jig” in place to align the tap. The jig is an old hydraulic valve with the right sized groove in the side of it. Start tapping the hole, while keeping the tap pressed against the inside edge of the groove.


After the hole is tapped, pull out the jig so you can run the tap down to the bottom of the threads!

Just proves Edison’s quote. My wife bought this frame for me the other day, and I love it. She actually said she is beginning to understand and appreciate my “stash” of stuff I might use some day for something.

You can buy these at http://passiongiftshop.com if you weren’t going to make your own!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

