jump to navigation

Mounting the x-axis Rails October 1, 2008

Posted by Ruzter in Assembly.
trackback

Mounting the x-axis rails is monumentally complete. Why monumentally you ask?

  • This was a major problem on last versions of the CNC where I used rods and bushings.
  • I am by nature cheap, but I bit the bullet and bought some used high quality rails on e-bay.
  • When the rails arrived, the packaging was damaged, parts were missing and I spent months trying to get it all sorted out, but at least I ended up with all the parts I needed.
  • I found the special cap-head bolts needed for 12 cents a piece. I needed 60+ bolts and Rona or Home Depot wanted about $1 each.
  • The CNC support table has to be very flat to make this all work.
  • I had to mount the rails parallel to each other within about 0.01 of an inch, or so I thought. I suspect I had a bit more leeway.
  • Even if your center-punch mark is perfect, even a small drill bit wanders an alarming amount!
  • etc.
  • etc.

Here is a picture just to prove I built it heavy enough. I used a timer to take the picture, so the look on my face may have to do with climbing up there and balancing on a gantry that is made to move somewhat easily, all in less than 10 seconds πŸ™‚

Comments»

1. Sandra R - September 9, 2009

Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. πŸ™‚ Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

