jump to navigation

Belt Tensioners Mark II (or so) June 11, 2008

Posted by Ruzter in Assembly.
trackback

I built a couple new belt tensioners to try out the latest design. I think I was quite ingenuitive, The trick being that if the belt is clamped without the groves of the belt meshing with some matching grooves, the belt could slip. The belt can also not be bent at too tight a radius or the cords inside the belt that give it its strength will fracture. Usually you use a plate like the one below:

Easy enough, but I tried machining them with my crude tools and I just couldn’t do a good enough job. To buy them, they are only $8 or so, but I need 6 and once you tack on shipping…

So I made this:

Which then holds the belt like this:

As you can see, I mesh the belt teeth with the belt itself, so I can use a simple clamp. Here is a close up:

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

