jump to navigation

Step 25: Fabricate the Gantry Mounts April 19, 2008

Posted by Ruzter in Fabrication.
trackback

Today I mostly finished the blocks that the gantry rests on and bolt to the x-axis linear rails.

First I cut the 3″ square tubing to length. I found the saw-z-all a lot more accurate that I had imagined. Notice the proper personal protective equipment.

Here are the blocks with all the holes drilled for where they bolt to the x-axis trucks. I made a template out of aluminum plate since the tolerance for the hole spacing is tight.

Here are the sixteen 8 mm bolts I had to shorten, I seem to spend enough time cutting and grinding bolts to length…

Here is how the block mounts. The gantry bolts holes are not drilled yet as I haven’t established the exact width of the gantry yet.

I also played around building some prototype belt tensioners, pics to come if I decide they are up to snuff…

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

